Why do you need compliance?

Why do you need compliance?

13.10.19

Previously, we pointed out that compliance is the system of measures that the company introduces to comply with the laws and business ethics. But why do you need this?

 Firstly, it is a way of reducing risks. For example, occupational safety compliance imposes on organizations the obligation to introduce fire safety regulations. If there are such regulations:

  1. a) risks of fines and administrative liability are eliminated;
  2. b) risks of criminal prosecution of the CEO are eliminated;
  3. c) risks of fires or casualties in case of a fire are reduced;

 Secondly, it is a method of allocating responsibility within the company. If there is a lack of administration in certain aspects of the company’s operations, all responsibility rests with the CEO or a person, who gives instructions. By introducing the compliance system, the company imposes responsibility on those officers, who perform potentially wrongful acts, whereby subsidiary responsibility of the management can be reduced.

 Thirdly, this is a legal requirement. So far, literally it only refers to anti-trust compliance, but in general companies are required to take measures to prevent violations in various business areas (this will be further revealed in our future publications).

 Fourthly, in some situations, it is required for listing on a stock exchange.

 Fifthly, it reinforces trust in the company and its transparency. For example, once in our practice the customer succeeded in finalizing negotiations on more acceptable terms with major transnational creditors and avert most claims by implementing the compliance system. 

 Sixthly, compliance is the simplest way to do everything right.  To comply with the minimum legal requirements, to operate transparently, to pay taxes and not worry  about blockage of accounts and accountability.

 Seventhly, the last but not the least, compliance is indicative of general cultural level of the company, whether it looks for small loopholes and swindling, deceives its employees and clients, or whether it is a decent member of the civil society. It is especially conspicuous in large companies.

 At present, compliance is the same as foreign top managers in the 1990s in Russia. It not only shows that the company can afford to observe the laws, but that the company wishes to become a part of the civilized business and has high quality management tools. Those companies which plan to work with foreign corporations need compliance as well. In some jurisdictions, in particular in Europe and the USA, companies are forbidden to have foreign counterparties without incorporated compliance systems.

 

UniLegal Consulting Company

http://unilegal.ru

info@unilegal.ru

+7 (495) 790 92 26

NEED HELP?

Leave your number and we will contact you

CONTACT DETAILS

How to find us
Business Center “Imagine Plaza”, bld. 9, house 16, Nagatinskaya Str., Moscow, 115487
+7 (495) 790 92 26 info@unilegal.ru
Why do you need compliance?
Thanks for the application

We will contact you

Зачем нужен комплаенс

Зачем нужен комплаенс

26.02.19

В прошлой записи мы разобрались, что комплаенс - это система мер, которые компания внедряет для соответствия законодательству и бизнес-этике. Но зачем это нужно?

Во-первых, это один из способов снижения рисков. Например, комплаенс в сфере охраны труда обязывает организации внедрить положения о пожарной безопасности. При наличии такого положения:

а) снимаются риски наложения штрафов и привлечения к административной ответственности;

б) снимаются риски привлечения к уголовной ответственности руководителя;

в) снижаются риски возникновения пожара и жертв в случае его возникновения.

Во-вторых, это способ распределения ответственности в компании. При отсутствии регулирования тех или иных сфер в компании, вся ответственность по умолчанию ложится на генерального директора, либо на лицо, от которого исходят указания. Внедряя комплаенс-систему, компания наделяет ответственностью персонал, который непосредственно совершает потенциальные неправомерные действия, при этом субсидиарная ответственность руководства может быть снижена.

В-третьих, этого требует закон. Буквально это пока что относится только к антимонопольному комплаенсу, но в целом меры по предупреждению правонарушений компании обязаны иметь по целому ряду направлений деятельности (об этом расскажем в будущих публикациях).

В-четвертых, в ряде случаев, это - требование для размещения на бирже.

В-пятых, это повышает доверие к компании и ее прозрачность. Так, в нашей практике был кейс, в котором с внедрением системы комплаенс клиенту удалось на более приемлемых условиях завершить переговоры с крупными транснациональными кредиторами и отразить большинство претензий.

В-шестых, комплаенс - это простейший способ сделать все правильно. Соответствовать минимальным обязательным требованиям закона, работать чисто, платить налоги и не переживать о блокировках счетов и привлечению к ответственности.

В-шестых, the last but not the least, комплаенс показывает общий культурный уровень компании. Ищет ли она мелкие лазейки и махинации, обманывает ли сотрудников и клиентов, или же является достойным членом гражданского общества. Это очень хорошо заметно на примере крупных компаний.

Сейчас комплаенс - это как управленцы-экспаты в 1990х годах в России. Это не только признак того, что компания может себе позволить соблюдать закон, но и проявление желания быть причастным к цивилизованному бизнесу и иметь качественные инструменты управления. Также, комплаенс необходим компаниям, которые планируют сотрудничество с западными компаниями. В ряде юрисдикций, в частности - в Европе и в США, компаниям запрещено иметь зарубежных контрагентов без внедренных комплаенс-систем.



Консалтинговая компания UniLegal

http://unilegal.ru

info@unilegal.ru

+7 (495) 790 92 26

Нужна помощь?

Оставьте номер и мы свяжемся с Вами

Контакты

Как нас найти
115487, Москва, Нагатинская ул., д. 16, стр. 9, БЦ "Imagine Plaza"
+7 (495) 790 92 26 info@unilegal.ru
Зачем нужен комплаенс
Спасибо за заявку

Мы обязательно с Вами свяжемся!